top of page

The Spring Lake – Lake Board was established in 1997 in accordance with Michigan’s Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act. The Lake Board includes a lakefront property owner, representatives from each of the municipalities bordering Spring Lake, and representatives from both Ottawa and Muskegon Counties. Several board members are lake residents. Since its establishment, the Lake Board has implemented several programs to help improve conditions in Spring Lake. Funding for the project has been derived through special assessment of benefitting properties around the lake.  Management activities on Spring Lake are coordinated under the direction of the lake board’s environmental consultant, Progressive AE. This website includes information about Spring Lake and ongoing lake management activities.


Click here for an historical overview of Lake Board activities.

Click here to review the notice of the upcoming public hearing on the special assessment roll. 


Photo taken by Progressive AE

Spring Lake Sailboats.jpg
Banner Photo.jpg

Spring Lake - Lake Board

Michael Rolf, Chair

Spring Lake Resident

Joe Bush, Secretary/Treasurer 

Ottawa County Water Resources Commissioner

John Nash

Spring Lake Township

Samantha Verplank

Village of Spring Lake


Roger Vanderstelt

Village of Fruitport

Dave Split

Fruitport Township


Dave Billinghurst

City of Ferrysburg


Roger Bergman

Ottawa County Board of Commissioners


Michelle Hazecamp

Muskegon County Board of Commissioners


Brenda Moore

Muskegon County Water Resources Commissioner



Project Consultant

Progressive AE

bottom of page